Skip to main content Skip to footer
SVSU logo on a blue tessellated background with

Scholarships and Prizes

Seitz Creative Writing Scholarship

The English Department is proud to coordinate the annual Seitz Creative Writing Scholarship. The scholarship was created by Jim and Melissa Seitz to acknowledge excellence in the writing of poetry and/or fiction. A graduate of SVSU, Melissa Seitz is a retired member of the English Department much respected by her students and colleagues. The scholarship recipient typically receives $1,000, with the award split between the upcoming fall and winter semesters.

Deadline: March 27, 2020 | Chair: Tim Kenyon |  Application Link (search keyword Seitz)

Robert S. P. Yien First Year Writing Awards

The Robert S.P. Yien First Year Writing Awards showcase outstanding work by first year composition students in ENGL 080 and 111. Papers are judged by a committee comprised of the First Year Writing Coordinator and selected English Department faculty.

Deadline: March 1, 2019

The Tyner Prizes and Tyner-Roethke Award in Student Poetry

The Tyner Prizes and the Tyner-Roethke Award in Student Poetry recognize the best writing produced in English Department courses over the previous academic year. Read full description here.

Deadline: March 13, 2020  |  Chair: Tamara Migan 

Past Seitz Winners

Danielle Rohac (2011-12)

Kirsten McIlvenna (2010-2011)

Blair Giesken (2008-09)

Matthew Falk (2007-08)

2013 Robert S.P. Yien Writing Awards Winners

Download 2013 Robert S.P. Yien Writing Awards Winners (PDF 1kb)

Contact Us
(989) 964-4354(989) 964-4354

Department Chair

Daniel Gates


Science East 166