Skip to main content Skip to footer

2022 All-University Diversity Awards

Ruben Daniels Community Service Award
Fenobia I. Dallas
Professor of Rhetoric & Professional Writing
The Ruben Daniels Community Service Award was first given in 1993. It represents the university’s highest recognition of employee community involvement and is named for the late Ruben Daniels, a Saginaw community leader.

Roosevelt Ruffin Diversity Award
Rajani Muraleedharan
Associate Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering
The Roosevelt Ruffin Diversity Award is named for the late Dr. Ruffin, who served as SVSU’s director of Multicultural Programs and Affirmative Action. This award was created in 2005 to recognize SVSU individuals or groups who have demonstrated diversity leadership and creativity. Team One Credit Union is the sponsor of this award.

Global Diversity Award
Charles “Pat” Shelley
International Student Advisor
The Global Diversity Award recognizes the extension of SVSU’s impact from the Great Lakes Bay Region to the global community. This award represents the university’s highest acknowledgment of global leadership and service by SVSU faculty, staff, student groups and other individuals associated with the campus community.

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Research Award
Eric Gardner
Professor of English
Mark A. Giesler
Professor of Social Work
The Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Research Award recognizes SVSU faculty who made a significant and/or long-standing contribution to the advancement of research or practice in the field of diversity, equity and inclusion.

Encouraging & Recognizing Service

The SVSU Board of Control first adopted a “Statement on Cultural Diversity” in 1991, within that statement read "... the University must reaffirm its commitment to equality of opportunity by creating and nurturing, by leadership and example, an environment of genuine understanding and appreciation for differences among peoples..."  Through service, leadership and outreach programming, SVSU is delivering on this objective.

Profiles in Leadership

Our Initiatives

Hover over the images below to view Awards and Initiatives


KCP Future Faculty Fellowship

The FFF Program provides financial support to Michigan’s public universities to increase the number of traditionally under-represented instructors in the classroom available as role models for students.


Great Lakes Bay Region Youth Leadership Institute

HS students, SVSU student mentors + corporate/community volunteers together in training by nationally-trained facilitators

Ruben award

Ruben Daniels Community Service Award

Named in honor of Mr. Ruben Daniels, whose life exemplified the highest recognition of employee community involvement and service.


Roosevelt Ruffin Diversity Award

Created to promote diversity by recognizing individuals/groups at SVSU demonstrating outstanding leadership & creativity in diversity.

signing at leadership banquet

Visiting Professor Program

Stem the downward spiral of college graduation rates for students underrepresented in postsecondary education.

diversity walk