Skip to main content Skip to footer

Writing Awards

Every winter semester, various awards are given to deserving students for excellence in writing, along with an award to a faculty member who has demonstrated excellence in the teaching of writing. See award details for submission requirements and deadline dates.


Diane Boehm Writing Award for ePortfolios

Diane Boehm Writing Awards for ePortfolios are presented annually to outstanding e-portfolios to recognize the creative and effective integration of writing and multimedia.

Deadline: March 1, 2024

The Braun Awards for Writing Excellence

The Ruth and Ted Braun Awards for Writing Excellence at Saginaw Valley State University have been established to create incentives for outstanding student writing and opportunities for student writers to be recognized and published.

Deadline: March 1, 2024

Innovative Writing in Teaching Award

The Innovative Writing in Teaching Award annually recognizes the faculty member whose incorporation of innovative writing in teaching is most pronounced.

Nominations due: March 1, 2024 

Ming Chuan Endowed Multilingual Writing Awards

This award recognizes outstanding undergraduate writing by up to two SVSU students for whom English is not their native language.

Deadline: March 1, 2024

Seitz Creative Writing Scholarship

The Seitz Creative Writing Scholarship is for juniors or seniors with a major or minor in creative writing. Applicants must submit an essay, and a portfolio of poetry and/ or short stories.

Deadline: March 17, 2023  |  Chair: Tim Kenyon

Tyner Prizes

Tyner Prizes are presented annually in three categories--fiction, poetry, and nonfiction--to work nominated by faculty in the Humanities: Art, Communication, English, Modern Foreign Languages, Music, and Theater. 

Deadline: March 17, 2023 | Chair: Tamara Migan

Contact Us
(989) 964-2016(989) 964-2016

Dr. Kim Lacey, Writing Program Administrator


Brown Hall 358


WPA Office Hours: Mondays, 10:00-11:00 a.m.