Skip to main content Skip to footer

Admission to the Social Work Major

For all open admission to the major periods, the department strongly encourages you to meet with your faculty advisor (see the list on our website http://www.svsu.edu/socialwork/bsw/advising/) and to attend one of the admissions information sessions immediately prior to submitting your application in that period. Below are the open admission periods for the 2020/2021 Academic Year.

PLEASE NOTE: Admissions periods are open in one semester for admission to the major during the following semester. For example, if you apply in Fall 2020, you will be admitted to the program for classes starting in Winter 2021.

Admissions periods for Academic Year 2020/2021 and 2021/20

Fall 2020 - Admission to the social work major will be open at 8 a.m. Friday, September 4 to 5 p.m. Friday, September 18, 2020. Information sessions will be held online via the Social Work Student Canvas Conferences page on Tuesday, September 1, 1 p.m. - 2 p.m. and Thursday, September 3, 4 p.m. - 5 p.m.

Winter 2021 - Admission to the social work major will be open at 8 a.m. January 15, 2021 - January 29, 2021, at 5 p.m. Information sessions will be held online via the Social Work Student Canvas Conferences page on January 12, 1 p.m. - 2 p.m. and January 14, 4 p.m. - 5 p.m.

Spring 2021 - Admission to the social work major will be open at 8 a.m. May 14, 2021 - May 28, 2021, at 5 p.m. Information sessions will be held online via the Social Work Student Canvas Conferences page on May 11, 1 p.m. - 2 p.m. and May 13, 4 p.m.

Fall 2021 – Admission to the social work major will be open at 8 a.m. Friday, September 10 and will close Friday, September 24 at 5 p.m. Information will be held online via the Social Work Student Canvas Conference page on Wednesday, September 8 at 1 p.m. and again on Thursday, September 9 at 4 p.m.

Winter 2022 – Admission to the social work major will be open at 8 a.m. Friday, January 14 and will close Friday, January 28 at 5 p.m. Information will be held online via the Social Work Student Canvas Conference page on Wednesday, January 12 at 1 p.m. and again on Thursday, January 13 at 4 p.m.

Spring 2022 – Admission to the social work major will be open at 8 a.m. Friday, May 13 and will close Friday, May 27 at 5 p.m. Information will be held online via the Social Work Student Canvas Conference page on Wednesday, May 11 at 1 p.m. and again on Thursday, May 12 at 4 p.m.

Questions about admissions should be directed to your faculty advisor or to Cathy Macomber at camacomb@svsu.edu.

Contact Us

camacomb@svsu.edu
(989) 964-7136(989) 964-7136
(989) 964-4024

Department Chair

Catherine Macomber

Office

HHS 245