Skip to main content Skip to footer

June 19, 2023

SVSU Board approves tuition increase

Group of college students standing outside of room

The Saginaw Valley State University Board of Control approved increasing tuition to $408 per credit hour during the Board’s regular meeting Monday, June 19.

For the upcoming 2023-24 academic year, a Michigan undergraduate student taking 30 credits will pay $12,240, an increase of $675 over the prior year (5.8 percent).

“The safety and overall well-being of our students, faculty and staff is my highest priority,” said George Grant Jr., SVSU president. “Raising tuition is never easy or pleasant, but given the rate of inflation in recent years and our commitment to meet our students' needs, this increase is the right decision at this time, as we support needed investments to improve campus safety, and sustain expanded mental health resources, academic support services and more."

At the same meeting, the Board also approved a new 3-year contract with the SVSU Faculty Association that provides salary increases of 4 percent in the first year (2023-24) and 3 percent in the two following years, as well as increases for health insurance and other benefits. The Association (MEA/NEA) represents nearly 270 faculty. Members of the Association ratified the contract Thursday, June 15.

SVSU continues to have the lowest undergraduate tuition rate among Michigan’s public universities.

The university also has significantly increased SVSU's investment in financial aid with approximately $24 million in institutional aid awarded to students for the current fiscal year.

In addition, the Board approved naming the classroom in the Marshall M. Fredericks Sculpture Museum the Carl and Christina Fredericks Creative Commons. Carl Fredericks, the son of Marshall, passed away in 2021. Carl served 25 years on the Museum’s board of advisors and left a gift of nearly $1.6 million, plus nearly 70 sculptures, upon his death.

The Board also approved a series of faculty promotions, including 15 faculty promoted to the rank of professor:

  • Veronika Drake, English
  • Daniel Gates, English
  • Jules Gehrke, history
  • Rosina Hassoun, sociology
  • James Hitt, philosophy
  • Julie Keil, political science
  • Natalia Knoblock, English
  • Stacie Krupp, accounting
  • Kim Lacey, English
  • Cathy Macomber, social work
  • Betsy Pierce, accounting
  • Khandaker Abir Rahman, computer science and information systems
  • Sheruni Ratnabalasuriar, criminal justice
  • Tim Rowlands, criminal justice
  • Adam Warhausen, chemistry

Eight faculty were promoted to associate professor: 

  • Teresa Coker, social work
  • Judith Cox, nursing
  • Mindy Fabbro, nursing
  • Jadallah Jadallah, accounting
  • Merrick Lincoln, kinesiology
  • Avishek Mukherjee, computer science and information systems
  • Jennifer Scott, nursing
  • Tommy Wedge, theatre

In addition, Joseph Ofori-Dankwa was reappointed as the Harvey Randall Wickes Endowed Professor. 

In other action, the Board:

  • Confirmed board members for previously authorized charter schools
  • Approved the addition of pre-kindergarten to Muskegon Maritime Academy, a previously authorized charter school
  • Approved the closure of Charlevoix Academy, a charter school initially authorized by SVSU in 1996
  • Approved changes to the charter of the SVSU Student Association
  • Approved spending $250,000 to make needed repairs to the roof of the Ryder Center
  • Passed a resolution of appreciation for Bhushan Kulkarni, who has served on the SVSU Board of Control since 2017
  • Passed a resolution of appreciation for Vicki Rupp, who has served on the SVSU Board of Control since 2015