Skip to main content Skip to footer

February 14, 2023

SVSU Board approves naming rights deal with Covenant for Athletic Training rooms

Field House Outside

The Saginaw Valley State University Board of Control has approved a sponsorship agreement with Covenant HealthCare to name the university’s athletic training rooms for student-athletes in the Ryder Center as the Covenant HealthCare Cardinal Care Center. The Board took action during its regular meeting Monday, Feb. 13.

For years, Covenant has partnered with SVSU to provide a variety of health care services. Under the latest agreement, Covenant will contribute at least $142,000 per year for 10 years for naming rights and will be recognized as SVSU’s exclusive sports medicine provider. SVSU will use the funds to support two certified athletic trainers, who provide medical care to student-athletes.

Beyond the naming of the new Covenant HealthCare Cardinal Care Center, SVSU Athletics will recognize Covenant on signage and advertising, as well as other promotional opportunities.

The Board also approved spending up to $690,000 to repair various parking lots and sidewalks, as well as $500,000 of university funds to support the renovation of Brown Hall. The State of Michigan appropriated $21.8 million toward the Brown Hall project last year.

In other action, the Board:

  • Approved granting tenure to eight faculty members, effective July 1. Those receiving tenure are: Teresa Coker, social work; Judith Cox, nursing; Mindy Fabbro, nursing; Jadallah Jadallah, accounting; Merrick Lincoln, kinesiology; Avishek Mukherjee, computer science and information systems; Jennifer Scott, nursing; and Tommy Wedge, theatre.
  • Adopted a policy for granting honorary degrees.
  • Granted emeritus status to Jim Dwyer, who retired from SVSU in 2022 after more than 41 years of service to the university, primarily in leadership positions for enrollment management.
  • Granted emeritus status to Jim Muladore, who retired from SVSU in 2022 after nearly 50 years of service to the university, including more than 20 years as its chief financial officer.
  • Appointed Board members John Cherry, JoAnn Crary and Lindsay Eggers to serve on a committee to nominate individuals to serve as Board officers for the 2023-24 fiscal year.