Skip to main content Skip to footer

October - 2021

October 7, 2021

SVSU students score decisive victory in fundraising competition 

 While Saginaw Valley State University came out on top of Battle of the Valleys, nonprofit organizations in Midland and Grand Rapids were the big winners of the yearly fundraising competition.

October 8, 2021

SVSU graduates earn competitive scholarship while attending PA, dentistry school

Two recent Saginaw Valley State University graduates were rewarded for their commitment to underserved populations in healthcare.

October 5, 2021

SVSU student-led production opens theatre season

An SVSU student’s passion project will mark the first in-person theatre production of the 2021-22 academic year.

October 14, 2021

SVSU students elect 2021 Homecoming royalty

Students at Saginaw Valley State University have selected three of their peers to reign as the 2021 Homecoming royalty.

October 21, 2021

SVSU to host central figure in Flint water crisis

Saginaw Valley State University will host Mona Hanna-Attisha, M.D., the Flint pediatrician whose research proved that children were exposed to lead from the Flint water supply.

October 22, 2021

JuJuan Cook: SVSU Nursing Student Determined to Make a Difference

With health care careers receiving more attention than ever, society sees the critical role of nurses, especially hardworking and compassionate nurses like JaJuan Cook.

October 25, 2021

Saginaw Valley State University Professor Receives Distinguished Professor of the Year Award

Saginaw Valley State University Professor Joseph Ofori-Dankwa was recognized as one of the state’s three recipients of the 2020 Michigan Distinguished Professor of the Year Award by the Michigan Association of State Universities.

October 29, 2021

Michigan Author wins SVSU literature award

Saginaw Valley State University has awarded the 2021-2022 Stuart D. and Vernice M. Gross Award for Literature to author T. Marie Bertineau for her debut memoir, “The Mason House.” The award is part of SVSU’s community-minded commitment to recognize exceptional writing within Michigan.