Skip to main content Skip to footer

May 10, 2021

SVSU Board approves granting degrees in advance of outdoor Commencement ceremonies

The Saginaw Valley State University Board of Control approved granting undergraduate and graduate degrees during the Board’s regular meeting Thursday, May 6. More than 1,000 students are expected to complete degree requirements.

SVSU is holding three outdoor Commencement ceremonies Friday, May 7. The university normally holds the ceremonies indoors but moved them outside this year to allow graduates to celebrate safely.

The Board also approved granting two posthumous degrees. Students Tyra Chapman and Alissa Bunnell died in separate vehicle accidents during the academic year. Family members of Chapman and Bunnell will be present at the 10 a.m. Commencement ceremony to receive the degrees.

In other action, the Board:

  • Elected officers for the 2021-22 fiscal year. Vicki Rupp will serve as chair; Raj Weiner will serve as vice chair. Bhushan Kulkarni will serve as secretary, and Lindsay Eggers will serve as treasurer.
  • Passed a resolution thanking Thomas Metiva and elected representatives of the SVSU Student Association for their service during the 2020-21 academic year.
  • Approved the reauthorization of 7 previously authorized charter schools: Cesar Chavez Academy; Chatfield School; Flat River Academy; Genesee STEM Academy; Marvin L. Winans Academy of Performing Arts; Pontiac Academy; and Woodland School.
  • Approved the renewal of SVSU’s partnership with Barnes & Noble to manage the retail bookstore through June 30, 2026.
  • Received the federal awards audit for the 2019-20 fiscal year.
  • Approved two capital projects totaling $4.8 million. The Board authorized renovations to the Student Center and Curtiss Hall totaling $2.2 million; these renovations will include expanded space for the Multicultural Student Services Center and the Mental Health and Wellness Center. The Board also approved spending approximately $2.6 million for various technology upgrades.
  • Granted emerita status to Gretchen Mooningham, who is retiring from the math faculty after 38 years of service.
  • Granted emeritus status to John Mooningham, who is retiring from the math faculty after 38 years of service.
  • Granted emeritus status to Kerry Segel, who is retiring from the English faculty after 35 years of service.
  • Granted emerita status to Marcia Shannon, who previously retired from the nursing faculty after 23 years of service.