Skip to main content Skip to footer

January 4, 2019

SVSU students invited to perform, compete in regional Kennedy Center theater festival

Servent of Two MastersA group pf 21 Saginaw Valley State University students will take their passion for theater to the annual Kennedy Center American College Theatre Region III Festival Jan. 8-13 in Madison, Wisconsin.

The Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival is a national theater program involving college students across the nation dedicated to improving the quality of theater. The participating SVSU students will celebrate the creative process, share experiences and as one another's work, as well as offer insights within the theater community.

The festival honors excellence of overall production and presents student artists individual recognition through awards and scholarships in the categories of playwriting, acting, criticism, directing, and design.

Students participating in the Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship will compete for $500 scholarships. The eight SVSU students who will perform are:

  • Brianne Dolney, a political science and theatre major from Bay City, and Abby Burgess, a theatre major from Commerce Township
  • Tristian Evanoff, a theatre major from Bay City, and Holly Houck, an international studies major from Saginaw
  • Josh Lloyd, a theatre and communication major from Bay City, and Clayton Singer, a theatre and psychology major from Frankenmuth
  • Dominic Pnacek, a theatre major from Saginaw, and Joe Green, a theatre major from Shelby Township

The following seven SVSU students will work with professionals experienced in musical theatre performance:

  • Erica Close, theatre major from Essexville
  • Indigo Dudley, music major from Saginaw
  • Melanie Frasca, theatre major from Waterford
  • Olivia Greanias, theatre major from Saginaw
  • Rhiannon Hall, theatre major from Bay City
  • Jessica Hurley, theatre major from Essexville
  • Conner Wieland, theatre major from Essexville

The following eight SVSU students will engage with professionals involved in costume, sound, stage, and lighting design:

  • Cailey Brown, a psychology major from St. Charles
  • Melanie Frasca, a theatre major from Waterford
  • Jessica Hurley,  a theatre major from Essexville
  • Lucas Inman, a theatre major from Saginaw
  • Jennifer Lothian, a communication and theatre education major from Linwood
  • Amber Tanner, a business major from Hemlock
  • Natasha Nash, a theatre major from Saginaw
  • Arianna Whisman, a special education major from Bay City