Skip to main content Skip to footer

May 5, 2017

SVSU Board approves new master’s degree in computer science

The Saginaw Valley State University Board of Control approved a new graduate program, a master’s degree in computer science and information systems, during the Board’s regular meeting Friday, May 5.

In developing the program, SVSU faculty solicited feedback from auto companies such as Ford and Nexteer, as well a number of other firms from Auto-Owners Insurance to Yeo and Yeo. Government agencies, such as the U.S. Department of Defense, also evaluated the proposal. All of the reviewers indicated a growing demand for informational technology professionals with advanced degrees and supported SVSU’s proposed program.

“We have done our homework and we anticipate strong interest in this program right away,” said Frank Hall, dean of SVSU’s College of Science, Engineering and Technology. “Our computer science and information systems faculty have done an outstanding job designing a curriculum that is flexible enough to meet students’ interests while also emphasizing the technical needs expressed by employers.”

SVSU will begin enrolling students for the new master’s degree program immediately. The first courses will be offered this coming fall.

In other action ,the Board:
•    Passed a resolution to congratulate the 2016-2017 SVSU women's basketball team, which advanced to the second round of the NCAA Division II women’s basketball tournament.
•    Passed a resolution to congratulate the 2016-2017 SVSU women's tennis team, which finished with an overall record of 15-5, its best season in more than 15 years.
•    Passed a resolution to thank Cody McKay, president, and elected representatives of the SVSU Student Association for their service during the 2016-17 academic year.
•    Passed a resolution to congratulate Lauren Kreiss, president, and representatives of the Student Association elected to serve during the 2017-18 academic year.
•    Passed a resolution to elect Board officers for 2017-18. Jenee Velasquez will continue to serve as chair; John Kunitzer will serve as vice chair. Dennis Durco will perform the duties of secretary, and Vicki Rupp will serve as treasurer.
•    Passed a resolution to grant undergraduate and graduate degrees. More than 1,000 students will participate in Commencement exercises Friday, May 5 and Saturday, May 6.
•    Passed a resolution to approve the appointment of Samuel Tilmon to the board of the Marshall M. Fredericks Sculpture Museum.
•    Passed a resolution codifying how contractual authority is delegated. The Board retains authority over all contracts in excess of $250,000.
•    Passed a resolution to update the SVSU Purchasing Policy, which was last amended in 2004.
•    Passed a resolution to establish the Board’s meeting schedule for the 2017-18 academic year.