Skip to main content Skip to footer

May 9, 2016

SVSU Board Approves Degrees, Upgrade to Intramural Fields

The Saginaw Valley State University Board of Control approved granting undergraduate and graduate degrees to approximately 1,100 students set to graduate during the Board’s regular meeting Friday, May 6.

The graduating class consists of 990 individuals expected to complete degree requirements who have indicated that they intend to don regalia and march in their respective ceremonies Friday, May 6 and Saturday, May 7. They will hear from SVSU alumnus Joseph Fifer, president and CEO of the Healthcare Financial Management Association, who is this year’s Commencement speaker.

Included in the class are the first four students who completing master’s degrees in Teaching Chinese as a Foreign Language; they will receive diplomas from both SVSU and Ming Chuan University through the schools’ innovative joint degree program. Taiwan- based Ming Chuan opened its Michigan campus through leasing space from SVSU in 2014. It is believed to be the only such collaboration in Michigan where an Asian university has a physical campus in the state.

The Board also approved spending up to $1.9 million to relocate and upgrade SVSU’s intramural fields, which are used by more than 2,000 students each year through intramural and club sports programs. The current fields are on a western portion of campus, near Curtiss Hall. The new fields will be located near SVSU’s Athletics complex, east of Davis Road. Funding for the project will come from existing capital reserves.

The project includes the addition of a pavilion that will include restrooms and locker rooms. Work will begin immediately and is scheduled to be completed by next summer.

In other action, the Board:
•    Passed a resolution congratulating the 2015-16 men’s basketball team, which qualified for the NCAA Division II national tournament and advanced to the Elite 8.
•    Passed a resolution congratulating the 2015-16 women’s basketball team, which qualified for the NCAA Division II national tournament.
•    Passed a resolution thanking Jarrod Eaton, president, and elected representatives for their service on Student Association during the 2015-16 academic year.
•    Passed a resolution congratulating Cody McKay, president, and elected representatives for their election to serve on Student Association during the 2016-17 academic year.
•    Reauthorized 10 previously authorized charter schools: Branch Line School, Cesar Chavez Academy, Chatfield School, Genesee STEM Academy, Kingsbury Country Day School, Landmark Academy, Oakland International Academy, The New Standard, Marvin L. Winans Academy of Performing Arts, and Woodland School.
•    Approved amending SVSU’s energy contracting authority.
•    Approved providing easements to Consumers Energy.
•    Amended SVSU’s special event alcohol guidelines.
•    Approved the appointment of Benjamin Kiehl to the Marshall M. Fredericks Sculpture Museum Board of Directors.
•    Established the Board’s meeting schedule for 2016-17.
•    Elected officers of the Board for 2016-17. Jenee Velasquez of Midland will serve as chair; David Gamez of Saginaw will serve as vice chair; Cathy Ferguson of Saginaw will perform the duties of secretary; and John Kunitzer of Saginaw will perform the duties of treasurer.