Skip to main content Skip to footer

June 14, 2016

SVSU Board approves tuition increase of 4.19 percent; Buildings named for Brandimore, Hamilton

The Saginaw Valley State University Board of Control approved a tuition increase of 4.19 percent as part of the 2016-17 general fund operating budget adopted during the Board’s regular meeting Monday, June 13.

A Michigan undergraduate student taking 30 credits will pay $9,345 for the upcoming academic year. SVSU students were charged $8,969 during the 2015-16 academic year.

“We continue to do all that we can to maintain our commitment to affordability for our students and their families,” said President Donald Bachand, president. “While our tuition remains the lowest among Michigan’s public universities, the quality of teaching and learning at SVSU has never been higher. We provide an exceptional educational value for our students.”

SVSU is increasing its budget allocation for scholarships and financial aid by 6.6 percent for the upcoming fiscal year.

The Board also granted emeritus status to three individuals who have announced their plans to retire from SVSU: Merry Jo Brandimore, Gene Hamilton, and Gladys Zubulake; Brandimore and Hamilton also will have buildings named in their honor, following Board action.

Brandimore was named Dean of Students Emerita in recognition of her 33 years of service to SVSU, most recently in the role of dean of students since 2008. She arrived in 1983 as director of Housing and Residential Life and has dedicated her entire SVSU career to student affairs. Brandimore’s passion and enthusiasm for “Red Pride” has received respect and praise from generations of students and colleagues.

In recognition of Bradimore’s contributions to SVSU, the Board approved re-naming the residence hall Living Center North as M.J. Brandimore House.

Hamilton has served SVSU in a variety of roles during a Cardinal career that spans 47 years. He is perhaps best known for his work in government relations over the past two decades, advocating on SVSU’s behalf at the local, state and federal level. Prior to that, Hamilton served in SVSU offices for Admissions, Cooperative Education and Field Experiences, and Continuing Education and International Programs. He was named Ambassador Emeritus of Government and Community Relations.

Hamilton holds the distinction of serving as SVSU’s first varsity basketball coach, starting the men’s program in 1969. He and the late Bob Becker, SVSU’s long-time athletic director, are credited with choosing Cardinals as the mascot for SVSU athletic teams. The Board voted to change the name of Cardinal Gymasium – where Hamilton once coached – to Hamilton Gymnasium.

Zubulake has served SVSU as an award-winning educator for 25 years and was named Professor Emerita. She joined SVSU as director of the Bilingual/Bicultural Teacher Training Program in the College of Education, and joined the faculty in the Department of Modern Foreign Languages in 2001.

Zubulake has received three SVSU honors: the Franc A. Landee Teaching Excellence Award in 2006, the House Family Award for Teacher Impact in 2012, and the Ruben Daniels Community Service Award in 1999. She also was named Educator of the year by the Michigan Educational Opportunity Fund in 1998 and the Michigan Foreign Language Association in 2004.

The Board also approved the addition of four new academic programs. SVSU students will now have an opportunity to complete degrees in general studies, neuroscience, elementary teaching for international students, and middle/secondary teaching for international students. All four programs are effective starting with the upcoming fall semester.

In other action, the Board:
•    Approved amendments to the Student Association charter.
•    Approved revisions to the Code of Student Conduct for the 2016-17 academic year.
•    Approved the reappointment of nine individuals to the SVSU Board of Fellows, a community advisory board: Mary Lou Benecke, Thomas A. Braley, Vicente Castellanos, Gil Johnson, Kenneth W. Kousky, John W. Nagy, Ernest E. Paulick, Chris Pryor and Jerome L. Yantz.
•    Approved the confirmation of board members for previously authorized charter schools.
•    Approved the addition of grades 6-8 for Waterford Motessori Academy, a previously authorized charter school.
•    Approved faculty promotions. Three faculty were promoted to the rank of professor: Anthony Crachiola, mathematics; Dorothy Lee, nursing; Christopher Surfield, economics. Nineteen faculty were promoted to the rank of associate professor: Emily Beard-Bohn, English; James Bowers, criminal justice; Colleen D’Arcy, teacher education; Sherrin Frances, English; Andrea Frederick, nursing; Melissa Garmo, criminal justice; Christopher Giroux, English; Dennis Gray, biology; Ellen Herlache-Pretzer, occupational therapy; Jaime Huffman, nursing; Thomas Mahank, mechanical engineering; Andrew Miller, geography; Rajan Murgan, physics; Emmanuel Ncheuguim, mathematics; Jason Pagano, chemistry; Jean Prast, occupational therapy; Sheruni Ratnabalasuriar, criminal justice; Jennifer Stinson, history; Charles Weaver, health science.
•    Approved granting tenure to Kevin Simons, associate professor of music.
•    Approved a posthumous degree policy.
•    Approved, in principle, the university’s guiding principles for strategic planning.