Skip to main content Skip to footer

June 23, 2015

SVSU Board Approves Tuition Increase of 3.2 Percent Women’s Golf Added as Varsity Sport

The Saginaw Valley State University Board of Control approved a 3.2 percent tuition increase during the Board’s regular meeting Monday, June 22.

For the 2015-16 academic year, a Michigan undergraduate student taking 30 credits will pay $8,969 in tuition and mandatory fees for the upcoming academic year. This is an increase of $278 from the $8,691 charged in 2014-15.  

“This modest tuition increase continues our longstanding tradition of keeping SVSU affordable,” said SVSU President Donald Bachand. “This is a lean budget and some difficult decisions remain to balance the books, but we will not compromise our commitment to academic quality. Our students deserve the finest education we can deliver, and we will continue to enhance the value they receive for their hard-earned tuition dollars.”

SVSU’s tuition remains the lowest among Michigan's public universities. The increase was part of a $120.3 million general fund budget approved by the Board for the 2016 fiscal year.

The Board also approved establishing a women’s varsity golf program. Currently 12 other members of SVSU’s conference, the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC), offer the sport. Men’s golf coach Joe Vogl will add coaching duties for the women’s team and will take on new responsibilities as the lead fundraiser for SVSU Athletics. SVSU expects to begin NCAA Division II competition during the 2016-17 academic year.

In other business, the Board:
•    Passed a resolution to approve the appointment of Leonard A. Amat to the Marshall M. Fredericks Sculpture Museum Board.
•    Passed a resolution to approve the appointment of Thomas A. George to the Marshall M. Fredericks Sculpture Museum Board.
•    Passed a resolution to amend the Student Association charter (Bylaws) – Article I, Section 6.
•    Passed a resolution to amend the Student Association Charter (Voting) – Article VII, Section 1.
•    Granted promotions to 16 faculty members. Elevated to the rank of professor are:
    ?    Peter Barry, philosophy
    ?    Josh Ode, kinesiology
    ?    Vince Samarco, English
    ?    Marilyn Skrocki, health sciences
•    Promoted to associate professor are:
    ?    Kay Castillo, health sciences
    ?    Monika Dix, modern foreign languages
    ?    Julie Foss, modern foreign languages
    ?    Brandon Haskett, music
    ?    Kylie Jaber, economics
    ?    Kaustav Misra, economics
    ?    David Nichols, philosophy
    ?    Arra Ross, English
    ?    Dave Rzeszutek, theatre
    ?    Ross Singer, communication
    ?    Vetta Vratulis, teacher education
•    Promoted to assistant professor: Jason Kahler, English
•    Granted emeritus status to Shyamalendu “Sam” Sarkar, Ph.D., who recently retired after serving 45 years on the economics faculty.
•    Confirmed board members for previously authorized public school academies.
•    Renewed contracts with two public school academies. SVSU’s contract with Waterford Montessori Academy is extended through June 30, 2018, and the contract with Chandler Park Academy is extended through June 30, 2020.
•    Approved a banking and treasury management services agreement with PNC Bank for a period of up to 5 years.
•    Granted authority to SVSU executive staff to seek the sale of the property that is currently home to SVSU’s Regional Education Center-Macomb, located in Macomb County’s Chesterfield Township.
•    Approved a construction and completion assurance agreement, a conveyance of property, a lease and an easement agreement, if necessary, for the ongoing renovations to Wickes Hall.
•    Approved the negotiation of a contract with the U.S. Youth Soccer Development Program for SVSU to host the 2016 and 2017 Olympic Development Program summer camps.
•    Reappointed Jim Barcia, Gary Bosco, JoAnn Crary, David Hall, Phillip List, Reverend P. David Saunders, and Ricardo Verdoni to the Board of Fellows, a community advisory board.
•    Approved a Board of Control meeting schedule for the 2015-16 academic year.