Skip to main content Skip to footer

February 5, 2014

SVSU joins national honor society for history

By J.J. Boehm

Saginaw Valley State University’s history department recently announced that the National Board of Phi Alpha Theta History Honor Society has approved the establishment of a chapter at Saginaw Valley State University.

A national honor society, Phi Alpha Theta recognizes and celebrates the achievements of students and faculty who have excelled in their study of history.  The group carries more than 350,000 members in 860 chapters.

SVSU’s chapter has been designated the Alpha-Omicron-Rho chapter. The approval is an affirmation of the strong credentials of history students and faculty at SVSU.

The chapter’s installation ceremony and initiation of its first members is planned for April 2014. Membership in Phi Alpha Theta is lifetime and student members will have access to Phi Alpha Theta’s extensive scholarship and awards program.

Membership is open to students who meet the requirements of 12 credit hours in history with at least a 3.1 GPA in history and a 3.0 GPA overall.

Nameeta Mathur, SVSU professor of history, serves as the faculty advisor to Alpha-Omicron-Rho.