Skip to main content Skip to footer
SVSU logo on a blue tessellated background with

Center for Academic Innovation announces Department Innovation Awards


Two recipients of the Department Innovation Awards have been named: Drs. Aneesha Gogineni, John Herman and Peggy Jones of the mechanical engineering department; and Professors Shaun Bangert and J. Blake Johnson of the art department. Aneesha, John and Peggy intend to use their award to purchase manipulative props – or items that students can interact with directly - that will be used as part of interactive lecture demonstrations to help students further conceptualize key engineering principles. Shaun and Blake will be utilizing funds to improve video capabilities available to art department students, as current capabilities do not allow for students to showcase their best possible work in reflection of their SVSU education. Congratulations to all recipients and thank you for putting our students first!

Three students receive Mayme Hamilton Tutoring Award

From left: Imari Tetu, Rebecca Dietz and Bijesh Gyawali

Three students from our university tutoring centers were recognized for their outstanding work with their peers. Writing Center tutor Imari Tetu, Math/Physics Center tutor Rebecca Dietz and Center for Academic Achievement tutor Bijesh Gyawali are this year’s recipients of the Mayme Hamilton Tutoring Award. Imari is a senior professional and technical writing major with a minor in communication. She has been a tutor in the Writing Center since January of 2018, working with both undergraduate and graduate writers online and in person. Rebecca is a third-year secondary math education major with a minor in psychology. She has been a tutor in the Math/Physics Center for five semesters. Bijesh is a senior economics major; he tutors peers in accounting, economics and statistics in the Center for Academic Achievement and is a resident assistant. This award is given in recognition of Mayme Hamilton, who was a teacher and tutor for students throughout her lifetime. Congratulations to all award recipients; you carry on Mayme’s legacy and make us very proud! 

First Year Writing Award winners announced

Students work together on a paper

Several first-year writing students recently received the First Year Writing Award. Awards are given in three categories: English 111, English 111 English as a Second Language (ESL) and English 080. Winners in the English 111 category include first-year students Danielle Wolanin (1st place), Peyton Hart (2nd place), Alexis Moulton (3rd place), Graham Jones (4th place) and Elijah Whitney (5th place). Shayla Siniff, Kari Peckham and Cyril Kidemi received honorable mention. Winners in the English 111 ESL category include: Farhim ApuRakibul Hassan and Zakaria Abden (1st place); Sara Neves (2nd place), Bihn Duc Dang (3rd place). Ja’Lynn Jones and Logan Zakoor received 1st and 2nd place respectively in the English 080 category. Student essays are brought forward for consideration by their professors and chosen among a competitive pool of writing pieces. While students would normally be awarded at the University Writing Awards Ceremony, we sincerely congratulate them virtually on this great recognition!

Virtual Student Showcase: Presentation of scholarly projects

Virtual student showcase Friday April 24 through May 1

We would normally be invited to participate in the Office of Undergraduate Student Research Student Showcase around this time. Although we cannot enjoy this event in person, the Student Showcase will move forward virtually. The showcase will begin at 1 p.m. this Friday, April 24. The campus community will be able to engage with students’ presentations through a Canvas site. You can register for this event at this link. Provost Deborah Huntley will open the symposium; a panel discussion will follow. The Science, Engineer and Technology Symposium will be held the same day, also online. Details will be announced via the symposium website at this linkThank you to all who have worked hard to ensure our students’ research is recognized! 

International graduates celebrate on Instagram

International student sashes for graduation 2020

The Office of International and Advanced Studies will continue to honor graduates through Instagram on Friday, May 1, at 10 a.m. The event, which has been previously held in the Emeriti Room on campus, will go live at the office’s Instagram pageGuests join simply by visiting and following the page and clicking on the circular picture at the top left. I would like to thank the staff in the Office of International and Advanced Studies for making this happen for our international students across time zones. 

SVSU professor to assess on-campus accommodations for students with disabilities

How SVSU Provides for Student Accomodations

Beth Jorgensen, professor of professional and technical writing has been working with the Office of Accessibility Resources and Accommodations to evaluate on-campus accommodations for individuals with disabilities. Her goal is to ensure best practices are being implemented for students with autism spectrum disorder, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, anxiety and depression. Her hope is that her assessment will be able to provide professors with further means to assist students in their classrooms. Thank you, Beth, for your good work!

Museum staff provides take-home art kits for community

Inside of the MFSM

As part of the Marshall Fredericks Sculpture Museum’s Art@Home program, staff will be creating “Take and Make” art activity kids that will be distributed to community members. The Museum partnered with Kingdom Life Ministries in Saginaw, the Saginaw Youth Protection Council and the local Child and Family Services Agency; all organizations have distributed or will distribute art kits to area students. The Museum is welcoming additional partners to help distribute kits community-wide. Those interested should contact Director Megan McAdow at 

Passing of Louis J. Furlo, Sr.

The late Louis Furlo Sr.

It is with heavy heart that I learned of the passing of Louis J. Furlo, Sr. yesterday, April 22. Mr. Furlo was Chairman of the Board of Morley Companies and guided the organization – one of the areas largest employers - through significant growth and change as its former CEO. He was a steadfast supporter to organizations throughout the Saginaw community including Huntington Bank and the Field Neurosciences Institute. Mr. Furlo and his family have advocated for our university time and again, including as a key contributor to the First for Business Campaign; his photo is displayed in the new Carmona College of Business’ Wall of HonorMore on Louis’ life and career can be read here; a funeral mass will be held when stay-at-home orders are lifted. I offer my sincere condolences to the Furlo family. We will not forget his impact and generosity.

Contact Us
(989) 964-4041(989) 964-4041


Wickes 349