Skip to main content Skip to footer
SVSU logo on a blue tessellated background with

OLLI Interest Groups

Over the years, we have learned that people join OLLI for two  major reasons. The first is the opportunity to learn new things, but a secondary, and sometimes more important reason, is the opportunity to meet new friends who have similar interest.  Our Interest Groups bring together members who have similar interests or hope to meet others socially.

How to Start an Interest Group

From time to time we hear that our members would like an Interest Group on a given topic. The first step of the process is to find a group leader.  This is the person who communicates with the group members and works with the OLLI office to secure a meeting place. If you are interested in leading a group or want to learn more about the process, contact Katherine Ellison at (989) 964-4310 or email her at keelliso@svsu.edu.

OLLI Interest Group Contacts

Interest GroupCoordinator(s)PhoneEmail 
Games Ted Mclaughlin (989)790-9587 tshorty@chartermi.net   (more info)
Bridge Matt Skowronski (989)684-6402 northpoleski@peoplepc.com  
  Marilyn Bechtel (989)894-1089 marilynbechtel@gmail.com  
Buddhist Psychology Dr. Eric DeVos (989)964-4329 devos@svsu.edu  
Celtic Music Doug Baldwin (989)780-2022 baldwinD@sisd.cc  
Choral Singing Rose Kohut (989)790-1883 obsessedreader@hotmail.com  
Cross Country Skiing Pam Young 989-751-9412 pamelaroseyoung@gmail.com  
Current Events Chris Eckerle (989)684-2058 chriseckerle@chartermi.net  
Cycling Linda Ackerman (989)781-2961 lmackerman50@gmail.com (more info)
Dinner Deborah Bula (989)-295-2436 dbretired610@gmail.com  
Esoteric Cosmology Wayne O'Brien (989)686-0475 woobrien@tm.net  
Gardening Crystal Kauer (989)792-6874 cmkauer@chartermi.net  
Guitar Mike Juengling (989)245-3940 mikejuen5@gmail.com  
Kayaking Dan Dauer (989)753-6038 dauerhome@juno.com  
Knitting Beth McLaughlin (989)208-5885 bethie_m@charter.net  
Lunch Rita Grasso (989)781-4725 ritaolli11@yahoo.com  
Movie Cheryl Revard (989) 326-3997 clrevard@gmail.com  
Music Collegium Eric Nisula (989)964-4307 epn@svsu.edu  
OLLI Folks on Spokes (slow-pace cycling) Carol Walker (989) 423-4889    
Pickleball Edith Sommers (989)751-3819 edithsommers@charter.net  
Ping Pong Carol Lagalo (989)752-9857 lagaloc@yahoo.com  
Recorder (dojo) Wayne O'Brien (989)686-0475 woobrien@tm.net  
Recreational Cycling Vicki Shrope (989)615-0317 vshrope@gmail.com

 

Sharing the Great Courses Doug Baldwin (989)780-2022 baldwinD@sisd.cc  
Short Stories Don Sugg (989)295-0889 dlsugg@gmail.com  
Stamp Collecting Robert Bula (989)781-1126    
Theatre  Dick Holmes (989)781-4450  dick1322@charter.net

 

Contact Us

olli@svsu.edu
(989)964-4475(989)964-4475

Director

Katherine Ellison

Office

Curtiss Hall 111

Hours

Monday-Friday
8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.