Office of Diversity Programs Header

Community Diversity Advisory Council

Mission Statement

The role of the council is to engage the community in Saginaw Valley State University program initiatives. SVSU has a 21 member Diversity Council established in 2003 and the members and their titles are as follows:

Council Members

Dr. Donald Bachand - President of SVSU
Dr. Mamie T. Thorns - Special Assistant to the President for Diversity Programs

  • Honorable Janet Boes - Saginaw County, 10th District Court Judge
  • Norman Braddock - Saginaw City Councilman
  • Jerome Buckley - Publisher, Michigan Banner
  • Kay Burks, Assistant Vice President - Independent Bank
  • Karen Carter, General Manager Building & Construction - Dow Chemical
  • Tamar Chipp, Public Relations Supervisor - Michigan Blood
  • Honorable Terry Clark, Saginaw County - 70th District Court Judge
  • Jessie Dawkins - Community Member
  • Corrine Edwards, Director of Learning - Saginaw Township
  • David Gamez, Board of Control - Saginaw Valley State University
  • David Hall - Retired Community Member
  • Joyce Harvin - Host of Community Talk
  • Leo Romo - Retired Community Member
  • Gloria Rubis - Superintendent, Bridgeport Public Schools
  • Joyce Seals, - Former Mayor of Saginaw, Saginaw Promise
  • Delana Spates-Allen -Vice President, City of Saginaw School District Board
  • Cal Talley - Bridge Center for Racial Harmony
  • Tiffany Torian, Attorney - Braun Kendrick Finkbeiner
  • Leola Wilson, President - Saginaw NAACP Branch

 Next Diversity Council Luncheon will be held on October 21, 2014 and April 14, 2015