Skip to main content Skip to footer
SVSU logo on a blue tessellated background with

Faculty Awards

Each year the university awards outstanding faculty members. The awards recognize faculty members for their outstanding efforts in teaching, research, continuous professional practices, and support of students.  SVSU has long prided itself as an institution where faculty impact and inspire students through scholarship, teaching, and service. We ask that you spread the word about the awards and consider nominating outstanding faculty.

Mary H. Anderson Adjunct Faculty Award

This endowment was established by Andrew F. Anderson in honor of Mary H. Anderson who has been an adjunct faculty member since the founding of SVSU. The award recognizes of the endowment is to provide funds for the Mary H. Anderson Adjunct Faculty Award.
Deadline: February 14
Chair: Ann Coburn-Collins

Ruben Daniels Community Service Award

The SVSU Ruben Daniels Community Service Award is named in honor of Mr. Ruben Daniels whose life exemplified the highest recognition of employee community involvement & service.
Deadline: February 14
Chair: Mamie Thorns

House Family Award for Teacher Impact

This award annually recognizes the SVSU professor who had the greatest positive impact on a graduate in business, arts, humanities, or education program. This is not an award for excellence in teaching but rather an award for the faculty member who had a significant and positive impact on a student’s life.
Deadline: February 14
Chair: Brian Thomas

Roosevelt Ruffin Diversity Award

The SVSU Roosevelt Ruffin Award was created to promote and encourage support of diversity by recognizing individuals and/or groups of individuals at SVSU who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and creativity in the area of diversity.
Deadline: February 14
Chair: Mamie Thorns

Franc A. Landee Teaching Excellence Award

Each year the University recognizes one, or occasionally two, full-time faculty member(s) as the recipient(s) of the Franc A. Landee Award for Teaching Excellence. Alumni, students, faculty and staff may nominate candidates.
Deadline: February 14
Chair: Joshua Ode

Earl L. Warrick Award for Excellence in Research

The Earl Warrick Award is given annually to an SVSU faculty member who has made a significant and/or longstanding contribution to the advancement of knowledge in a recognized field of scholarship or artistic endeavor.
February 14
Chair: Joshua Ode

Terry Ishihara Awards for Outstanding Co-Curricular Involvement

Presented annually to one faculty member and one staff member to recognize their contributions to students, the University and community through development of, as well as, participation and attendance at SVSU co-curricular activities.
Deadline: February 14
Chair: Sidney Childs

The Thomson Award for Empowering Learning in Community Engagement

The Thomson Award for Empowering Learning in Community Engagement is awarded annually to one full-time faculty member, staff member or team of SVSU employees. Honorees are recognized for their innovation and leadership through community engagement.
Deadline: February 14
Chair: Brian Thomas

Excellence in Online Teaching Award

Submit Nomination Online >>

This award recognizes a faculty member who has demonstrated excellence in online/hybrid teaching by creatively and effectively using appropriate technologies and best practices to design and teach online and/or hybrid courses at SVSU. The nominee must have designed and taught one or more online or hybrid courses using innovation with a demonstrated impact on student learning. Alumni, students, faculty and staff may nominate candidates.
Deadline: February 14
Chair: Poonam Kumar

Ruth and Ted Braun Fellowship Program

The Saginaw Community Foundation has established the Ruth and Ted Braun Fellowship Program. Braun Fellows will be expected to produce a body of professional or academic work for publication or presentation during or at the conclusion of the Fellowship term. Selection is based on a record of publication or other scholarly or professional accomplishments and service to students. 
Deadline: September 15
Chair: Saginaw Community Foundation

Contact Us


Deborah Huntley, Ph.D.

Associate Provost

Joshua Ode, Ph.D.


Wickes Hall 338


8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.