Guidelines for Nomination and Selection

Submissions for The Braun Awards for Writing Excellence at SVSU may be made in nine categories:

  1. General Education (all departments; please submit assignment with paper)
  2. College of Arts and Behavioral Sciences--upper level courses in Social Sciences and related Departments  (Criminal Justice, Geography, History, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Rhetoric and Professional Writing, Sociology)
    Papers in the departments of Art, Communication, English, Modern Foreign Languages, Music, and Theater are submitted for the Tyner Prizes.
  3. College of Business
  4. College of Education
  5. College of Health and Human Services
  6. College of Science, Engineering and Technology
  7. Multimedia - Undergraduate
  8. Graduate Programs
  9. Multimedia - Graduate

Student work shall be nominated by a faculty member in the College or Program category for which the award is submitted; the faculty nomination shall state why this work is evidence of exemplary writing in that category. Students may request faculty members to nominate their work, and will be asked to verify the authenticity of their work.

Nominations are not restricted to students whose majors are in that college. Current students only are eligible. Nominated works are not restricted to course work. Course work may be revised before submission to be appropriate for a wider audience.  Works previously published or accepted for publication are not eligible.

Submitted works shall have been written after Jan. 1, 2013. Honors theses, Faculty Association Scholarship projects, SRCI proposals and projects, senior design projects, capstone projects, and the like are not eligible for nomination. Previously published work is not eligible. 

  • Faculty nomination forms
  • Student submission forms

Students may submit works in multiple categories, but may submit only one work per category and may not submit the same work for awards in two different categories. If a faculty member deems that a work is more appropriate for another category, he/she may recommend that the student seek nomination from a faculty member in that category. Collaborative work is eligible. Collaborators will share the award.

Faculty nominations in all 9 categories shall be submitted by Friday, March 14, 2014, to the Writing Center , Zahnow 308.
Selection Committees for all categories shall be convened by the designated members of the University Writing Committee.

Awards will be presented at the Writing Awards Reception, April 8, 2014.