Skip to main content Skip to footer
Link to feedback form Link to feedback form

The Braun Awards for Writing Excellence

"Our ability to write well is our ability to think well." ~ Ruth Braun

The Ruth and Ted Braun Awards for Writing Excellence at Saginaw Valley State University have been established to create incentives for outstanding student writing and opportunities for student writers to be recognized and published.

The Braun Awards for Writing Excellence will recognize exemplary writing in the following categories:

Undergraduate Writing:

  • General Education (all departments)
  • College of Business
  • College of Education
  • College of Science, Engineering, and Technology
  • College of Heath and Human Services, Category One: Health Sciences, Kinesiology, and Occupational Therapy
  • College of Health and Human Services, Category Two: Nursing and Social Work
  • College of Arts and Behavioral Sciences, Category One (Arts and Humanities): Art, History, Modern Foreign Languages, Music, Philosophy, Rhetoric and Professional Writing, and Theatre*
  • College of Arts and Behavorial Sciences, Category Two (Behavioral Sciences): Communication, Criminal Justice, Geography, Political Science, Psychology, and Sociology

Graduate Writing:

  • All Graduate Programs

In each category, The Braun Awards for Writing Excellence recognize exemplary writing characterized by the following criteria:

  • Represents appropriate writing in the discipline
  • Presents engaging content, integrating critical and/or creative/original thinking
  • Displays logical organization
  • Demonstrates synthesis and integration of authoritative sources, including appropriate citation
  • Communicates significant content effectively to audience. (Minor surface errors will not disqualify a submission.)

Papers/works written since Winter Semester 2017 are eligible for the 2018 award.  The deadline for all nominations (with the student work) is March 12, 2018.  Awards will be given at the annual Writing Awards Reception in April 2018.

All submissions require the student paper and faculty nomination letter for consideration.  For more information about this award and/or to submit student work, please  visit

Note: Honors theses, Faculty Association Scholarship projects, SRCI proposals and projects, senior design projects, capstone projects, and the like are not eligible for nomination. Previously published work is not eligible.

*For awards in the English Department, please see the Tyner Award.

Ruth and Ted Braun