The Braun Awards for Writing Excellence

"Our ability to write well is our ability to think well." ~ Ruth Braun

The Ruth and Ted Braun Awards for Writing Excellence at Saginaw Valley State University have been established to create incentives for outstanding student writing and opportunities for student writers to be recognized and published.

The Braun Awards for Writing Excellence will recognize exemplary writing in the following categories:

  1. General Education (all departments)
  2. College of Arts and Behavioral Sciences--upper level courses in Social Sciences and related Departments  (Criminal Justice, Geography, History, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Rhetoric and Professional Writing, Sociology)
    Note: Papers in the departments of Art, Communication, English, Modern Foreign Languages, Music, and Theater are submitted for the Tyner Prizes. See information below.
  3. College of Business
  4. College of Education
  5. College of Health and Human Services
  6. College of Science, Engineering and Technology
  7. Multimedia - Undergraduate
  8. Graduate Programs
  9. Multimedia - Graduate

In each category, The Braun Awards for Writing Excellence recognize exemplary writing characterized by the following criteria:

  • Represents appropriate writing in the discipline
  • Presents engaging content, integrating critical and/or creative/original thinking
  • Displays logical organization
  • Demonstrates synthesis and integration of authoritative sources, including appropriate citation
  • Communicates significant content effectively to audience. (Minor surface errors will not disqualify a submission.)

Papers/works written since Winter Semester 2015 are eligible for the 2016 award.  The deadline for all nominations (with the student work) is March 4, 2016.  Awards will be given at the annual Writing Awards Reception, April 12, 2015

If you are a faculty member, and you would like to submit a student paper for a Braun Award, please visit this page after October 30, 2015, when the submission portal (via competition space) will be open.

Honors theses, Faculty Association Scholarship projects, SRCI proposals and projects, senior design projects, capstone projects, and the like are not eligible for nomination. Previously published work is not eligible.

This award is directed by the University Writing Committee
(Contact any members for further information)

See also The Tyner Prize for Writing Excellence in the Humanities 
(Art, Communication, English, Modern Foreign Languages, Music, and Theatr

Ruth and Ted Braun