Skip to main content Skip to footer
Link to feedback form Link to feedback form

Ruben Daniels Award-Graphic Banner w-Text

Ruben Daniels Community Service Award at SVSU

The Ruben Daniels Community Service Award is named in honor of Mr. Ruben Daniels, whose life exemplified the highest recognition of employee community involvement and service.

Selection Considerations

  • Noteworthy and uncompensated contributions to the community in general
  • Active and long term involvement in one or more community, civic, educational, business, fraternal, recreational, religious, or service organization(s) in the greater SVSU service area
  • Leadership position in such organization


Award nominees can be all SVSU employees who fit the selection considerations.

What activities are suitable in a nomination?

Nominations must cite activities that demonstrate the significant contribution that the individual or team/group, unit/organization has made toward serving their community.

What should be included in a nomination packet?

A complete nomination packet must include the following:

  1. Letter or memorandum describing the nominee's qualifications
  2. Extensive list of names of organization(s), years of service, office(s) held, involvement in special projects, etc.
  3. Supportive materials such as letters, testimonials, and tributes are optional.

Download and print a Ruben Daniels Community Service Award Info Sheet and Application by clicking on the box to the right.

How are winners selected?

The Ruben Daniels Community Service Award Committee will select one award to be given to an individual or team/group. The committee, SVSU’s faculty and support staff may change from year to year. The committee will be chaired by Michael Mosher, professor of art and communications and multimedia.

For additional information, please contact the Office of Diversity at (989) 964-4068 or e-mail us at  Regular office hours are Monday-Friday between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.



Great Colleges to Work For logo


Ruben Daniels Awards 2017 Application