Skip to main content Skip to footer
Link to feedback form Link to feedback form

Header - Diversity Leadership Awards

Awards & Scholarships

Annually, the Office of Diversity Programs helps recognize SVSU students, faculty, and staff that have contributed in a significant way to advancing diversity, leadership, and stewardship within the community. The following is a list of the awards and scholarships.

Ruben Daniels Community Service Award

The Ruben Daniels Community Service Award is named in honor of the late Ruben Daniels, a Saginaw community leader.  This award represents the university's highest recognition of employee community involvement and service.

Roosevelt Ruffin Diversity Award

The Roosevelt Ruffin Award Program was created to promote and encourage the support of diversity by recognizing individuals/groups at SVSU who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and creativity in the area of diversity.  This award is name for the late Dr. Roosevelt Ruffin, who served as SVSU's director of Multicultural Programs and Affirmative Action.

Great Lakes Bay Regional Youth Leadership Institute (GLBRYLI) Scholarships

In celebration of the GLBRYLI, the President and the Provost of Saginaw Valley State University authorized $1,500 scholarships to be awarded to selected students graduating from the youth leadership institute and enrolling in SVSU as a freshman. 

Contact Us
(989) 964-4068(989) 964-4068
(989) 964-2827

Dr. Mamie T. Thorns
Special Assistant
to the President
for Diversity Programs


Wickes 260