Basic Information and Application Instructions
Instructions for completing an Endorsement Application
Applicants with a Criminal Conviction
Students may add a new content area major, minor, or grade level to their current Michigan teaching certificate. The endorsement may be used as the 18-hour "Planned Program" in preparation for the Professional Education Certificate. Students must meet with a Certification Advisor to outline the coursework and possible state testing requirements.
Upon successful completion of all required coursework and the Michigan Test for Teacher Certification (M.T.T.C.), if required, you will need to submit an Endorsement Application to the SVSU College of Education Admissions and Certification Office.
MTTC test scores must be submitted to SVSU electronically by selecting institution code #24 when registering, OR an official hard copy of the test results must be sent directly to our office from National Evaluation Series to: Kathy Lopez, Certification Officer, College of Education, Saginaw Valley State University, 7400 Bay Road, University Center, MI 48710. If some of the coursework requirements were taken at another college/university after you were admitted to SVSU, you will need to submit an official copy of those transcript(s) to us so that we may verify successful completion of all required coursework. The transcripts must accompany the endorsement application and they must be in a sealed envelope from the issuing institution.
Your teaching certificate must be valid at the time the endorsement application is made. If your Provisional Certificate has expired, you have the option to apply for a renewal of your Provisional Certificate or your Professional Education Certificate and the endorsement on the same application with no additional cost to you. If you have any questions, please contact the SVSU Admissions and Certification Office at 989.964.4057 (option #1).
Processing an application for an endorsement takes several weeks. The Michigan Department of Education will send you an e-mail notification to pay a certification fee online in the amount of $50.00. Upon receipt of payment, the Michigan Department of Education will mail you a new copy of your certificate to the address given on the application within 7-14 business days.
If you have been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony, you must include court documents indicating the crime of which you were convicted, dates and sentences imposed with your application materials. The Admission and Certification Office will forward your application with all supporting materials (including your court documents) to the Michigan Department of Education for consideration of a teaching certificate.
The SVSU College of Education cannot guarantee approval of any recommendation made to the State of Michigan for any type of certification. Final approval of a recommendation made by SVSU is granted only by the Michigan Department of Education based on their policies and procedures current at the time the recommendation for certification is made. The Michigan Department of Education will contact you in writing once they have reviewed your application materials and made their decision.
David Callejo Pérez, Ed.D.
Vetta Vratulis, Ph.D.
College of Education Dean's Office,
Gilbertson Hall, North 275
University Center, MI-48710
8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.