Skip to main content Skip to footer
Link to feedback form Link to feedback form

The Mary H. Anderson Adjunct Faculty Award

This endowment was established by Andrew F. Anderson in honor of his wife, Mary H. Anderson, who was an adjunct faculty member of SVSU. The purpose of the endowment is to provide funds for the Mary H. Anderson Adjunct Faculty Award.

Teaching excellence is difficult to define but selection criteria may include such attributes as:

1.   Maintains high standards for academic achievement
2.   Possesses superior knowledge of the subject matter
3.   Displays sincerity and enthusiasm in teaching
4.   Is recognized for fairness and integrity
5.   Is well organized and makes clear presentations
6.   Motivates students to excel
7.   Prepares students academically in a first rate manner
8.   Respects students opinions
9.   Relates classroom learning to real life situations
10. Shows interest and is helpful in counseling and advising
11. Participates in professional development activities as a means to enhance their teaching skills

The selection committee shall consist of:

1. The Director of Adjunct Faculty Support Programs, who will serve as chair;
2. The past two years' recipients, if they are still employed by SVSU;
3. Three full-time faculty members each from a different college;
4. President of the Student Association;
5. Representative from the Alumni Association.

Nominee Materials Required:

1. Curriculum Vita
2. Philosophy of Teaching
3. One letter of recommendation from a faculty member from the nominee's department
4. Student evaluations from the most recent previous semester class


The nomination deadline for the Anderson Award is 5:00 pm on Friday, February 2, 2018.

Previous Recipients of the Mary H. Anderson Award

Year Recipient Department


Roberto Garcia English


Sara Brooks Clark Art


Walter H. Reynolds Criminal Justice


Nick Wagner Administrative Science


Lester Altevogt Mathematical Science


Kristina Rouech Teacher Education


Kimberly Sawatzki Social Work
2011 Walter Malec Physics
2010 Charles Davenport  English
2009 Paula Mantei Modern Foreign Language
2008 Melissa Kaczmarek  Teacher Education
2007 Phyllis Lietzke Economics
2006 Stephen Froelicher Chemistry
2005 Kathleen Pelkki Biology
2004 William Bowen Management & Marketing
2003 Bruce King Chemistry
2002 Sharon Robinson Mathematical Science


Marlene Pellerito
Darin Evon


2000 Thomas Conklin Sociology
1999 William Albe Astronomy
1998 C. Timothy Weier Mathematical Science 
1997 Barbara Kennison Nursing
1996 Russell Will Science
1995 Marcia Ribble English
1994 Rosmari Pernisz German