meta sv spg
Link to feedback form Link to feedback form

Thomson Award for Empowering Learning in Community Engagement

Each year the University recognizes one full-time faculty member, staff member, or team of SVSU employees as the recipient of the Thomson Award for Empowering Learning in Community Engagement.  Honorees are recognized for their innovation and leadership in advancing student learning through community engagement that fosters reciprocal community partnerships and enhances SVSU's contributions to the local, regional, state, national, or global community.  This award was established in 2016 by Tony and Joni Thomson, local Meemic Insurance agency owners who proudly serve the educational community and appreciate the commitment by SVSU faculty and staff to prepare educated, engaged citizens.

 Alumni, students, faculty, staff, and community members may nominate candidates.

 Selection Criteria

  • Evidence of student learning through the integration of civic and community engagement.   Community engagement may be present as part of classroom teaching, research, or service as it relates to nominees position (examples include teaching undergraduate or graduate courses, conducting community-based participatory research with students, or developing engagement programs which impact student learning).
  • Evidence of community collaboration with the ability to develop and sustain reciprocity with the community partner/s.  These collaborative efforts must demonstrate a direct link to student learning as well as positive change within the community.
  • Evidence of institutional impact demonstrated by meaningful engagement on campus or in a discipline (examples may include curriculum or program creation, professional development, or fostering collaboration within and across units on campus).

To be eligible for this award, a faculty or staff member must be currently employed full-time at SVSU. In making your nomination cite evidence that the nominee meets the above criteria. The recipient will be announced at the annual awards banquet in the spring.

The submission deadline is 5:00 pm on Friday, February 2, 2018.


Click here to access the Thomson Award Nomination form

Award Recipients

Year   Recipient   Division
2018   J. Blake Johnson
Professor of Art

College of Arts & Behavioral Sciences

2017   Joseph Ofori-Dankwa,
The Harvey Randall Wickes Chair in International Studies
  College of Business & Management
2016   Jason Schoenmeyer,
Associate Director of Student Life
  Office of Student Life